Pattern Making Spot 1

06 Sept 2017

Semester 3

Fashion Design Department

NIFT Delhi

  • Make muslin fit for a lady attending a book launch or an evening birthday party.

First Pattern Making spot happened today with the above-written task given to us. We were asked to get pictures of creative dart manipulations, one for casual and one for a formal event for reference. Me being the normal clueless self, skipped the exploration before spot evaluation part and went straight to the class with a blank mind. Thankfully, I did spend some time getting colored poplin instead of just doing it on muslin again.

With the two colors I had, maroon and black, I thought it went more with the evening party theme than a book launch event so I worked accordingly.

Front: I did princess variation by creating a continuous princess dart curved at the apex and added fullness to the garment by pleating one side of it from the shoulder to the waist. The middle part of the garment was maroon with a V neck ending about 2 inches above the bust line.

As black is a slimming color, I used it for the sides to give an illusion of a thinner body, using a panel of maroon at the side seam to break the monotone as I was planning to do the back fully in black.

Sleeves: I decreased the width of the sleeve as compared to the basic bodice and made it of equal size for both colours joining at the shoulder princess. After pleating the darts made near the armhole on the black panel, there were random ruffles because of the seam allowance which I decided to trim properly and thus the armhole has an added element as ruffles in the front.

Back: Honestly, the pleating of the front black panel took me around an hour leaving me with no option but to either play smart with the back or make a basic back bodice. So I took the middle path, making a back princess variation. I made the part towards the centreback as it is in the pattern and instead of making a whole other part, I sliced it on the armhole level giving me a semi-backless back. I also gave the back V neck of about 4 inches from the nape of the neck for an added shape to the back.

The pictures of the final front and the back has been attached.

Let me know your thoughts on the design and execution. Do comment if there’s any suggestion.

Will update with the next spot eval.

Thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚

5 thoughts on “Pattern Making Spot 1

Add yours

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑